Our Board of Management

As a voluntary not for profit organisation, Newington is governed by a Board of Management consisting of unpaid volunteers. The Board Members set the strategic objectives and goals of the organisation and ensures that the organisation operates within its own rules and meets all its legal and financial obligations.

There are currently 13 members of the Board of Management including 3 officers. 

They are as follows:

  • Mr Niall Kelly (Chair) 
  • Mr Chris McCarroll (Vice Chair) 
  • Mr Larry Mooney (Treasurer) 
  • Mrs Carmel Maginness
  • Mr George Walsh MBE
  • Miss Lisa Privilege
  • Mr Philip O’Flaherty
  • Mr Sean McKenna
  • Mr Michael Bright
  • Mrs Leeann Vincent
  • Mrs Brenda Callaghan
  • Mr Mark Glinwood
  • Mr John Stephen Drummond

Our current Committees 

Also, to assist the main Board to effectively govern Newington, there are also 4 committees comprised of Board Members. These committees provide detailed governance and strategic direction to specific operational areas within Newington.

They are:

  • Audit & Risk Committee
  • Finance & Human Resources Committee
  • Assets Committee
  • Communities Committee


How To Become a Shareholder or Join the Board of Management

NHA requires volunteer Board Member(s) who are socially motivated with experience and skills fields such as community development, business, personnel, construction, law and finance would be advantageous.

Expressions of interest are particularly welcome from women and men living or working within North Belfast. NHA are particularly keen to attract respondents from the nine example groups covered by Section 75 of the Northern Ireland Act 1998.

If you feel that you can support our activities and bring experience and expertise to our organisation, please write to: –

The Secretary
300 Limestone Road
BT15 3AR

Or telephone 028 9074 4055 for further advice.

Before you apply, kindly read more on the role of the Board of Management* and our Shareholder Membership Policy, which are available on request.



Michael Bright                 Lisa Privilege                 Mark Glinwood


Chris McCarroll          Carmel Magenniss      John Stephen Drummond

Contact Us

We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.

Not readable? Change text. captcha txt

Start typing and press Enter to search